September’s Pot Luck Club

Welcome to this month’s Pot Luck Club, a round-up of writerly bits and pieces. It’s a wet and windy time here in Devon at the moment, as it is in the rest of the UK and elsewhere. The leaves are starting to change colour and fall; we’ve started switching the heating on in the evening; and I’ve exchanged my fit-flops for boots. The season is definitely on the move. But we still have some wonderful colours in the garden…

Corruption!

Today, Monday 24th September, is launch day for the online versions of Corruption!, the final part of the Suzanne Jones series of thrillers set in the sometimes murky world of international pharmaceuticals. It’s available at a special launch price of 99p/$0.99 for the first two days. After that, it will revert to full price (£2.99/$3.99).

We’re having an online launch party today from 2pm to 8pm UK time. There’ll be games, prizes, a grand draw, music, calorie-free chocolate cake and fizz, plus guest presenters dropping by. You can find us on Facebook by clicking here. Do drop in if you’re free. It would be great to ‘see’ you.

From Wednesday 26th September, I’m starting a 10-day blog tour, run by Rachel Gilbey of Rachel’s Random Resources and Corruption! will be appearing in 30 blogs over the period. Please help me make this book launch the best yet by sharing/retweeting anything you see about Corruption! over the next couple of weeks.

The Business of Writing

The writing of Part 4 Independent Publishing was progressing nicely, but has gone on the back burner at the moment. I’ll get back to that once the initial launch period for Corruption! is finished.

But, just a reminder of the closed Facebook Group I’ve set up under the same name. It’s described as “A community of writers with a shared interest in setting up and running a small business”. We have regular discussions on Fridays, but members can post questions at any time, and there’s always someone else in the group who can offer an answer. There’s only a few of us at the moment and all writers are welcome to join us.

Out and About in September

There’s been no major writerly trips this month; but I do want to mention Chudleigh Writers’ Circle. We’re ten years old this year and at last week’s meeting we enjoyed a great workshop from poet and funny man, Matt Harvey, before tucking into cake and fizz. It’s been an interesting decade (if I say it quickly, it won’t feel like too long) with some great moments and a few not so great. There are only three of us left from the crowd that gathered in my lounge back in 2008, but we have twenty-plus members and our meetings are always fascinating. Happy Anniversary, CWC; long may you prosper.

Writers Are Readers Too

My Goodreads 2018 challenge score is still behind target, although I remain optimistic. I’m currently reading my sixty-fifth book of the year. I made an attempt to tidy up my To Be Read list last week and am trying to mix fiction and non-fiction; but every time I get a plan written, someone else brings out a book that I decide I really MUST read, or I am reminded of an older publication that I’ve always planned to read. But what a wonderful problem to have: too many books to read!

This month’s recommendation is one for the thriller readers among you. One of the guest speakers at Swanwick last month was relative newcomer, A A Dhand. He writes what might be described as ‘Bradford Noir’. Streets of Darkness is the first in a series.

DI Harry Virdee is a Sikh, married to a Muslim, ostracised by both his family and hers, living in the racial and social turmoil that is Bradford. He is facing the loss of his job over an incident where protecting the honour of his pregnant wife got out of hand. Can life get any worse? Oh yes, it certainly can.

Race, corruption, murder – this book has all the usual elements of a standard crime thriller. But somehow, they don’t seem stale, and this is largely to do with Harry and Saima. Their relationship, despite its background, is refreshingly straightforward. Harry isn’t a drunk; he’s not a womaniser; he has a history and a temper, but he’s essentially a good guy in the true sense of the word.

The action in this book takes place over a twenty-four hour period. It’s gritty, violent and perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen or Lee Child; or anyone who enjoys the BBC’s drama, Luther. Someone told me recently that they sat up all night reading it. I didn’t believe them – but I couldn’t put it down either. A great debut novel and I look forward to reading more and, no doubt, seeing Harry Virdee on the TV at some point soon.

Get my blog posts by email:

By Elizabeth Ducie

Elizabeth Ducie was a successful international manufacturing consultant, when she decided to give it all up and start telling lies for a living instead.

Comments (2)

  1. Jacquie Rogers 24th September 2018 at 8:45 am

    Hope the launch today goes really well!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close